Skip to content ↓
  • ""

Unbeaten Rugby Champions

 Year 9 Rugby Team triumph in East Herts  


The Year 9 Rugby team have triumphed as winners of the East Herts County Trophy.  The impressive squad played 11 games and won every one, beating Hockerill College, Birchwood and Leventhorpe.  In the Semi Finals they beat Freman College 24-12, and in the final played at Old Albanians RFC where they played some outstanding rugby and beat Parmiters 37-17.

The squad was led by team Captain, Sonny Swift, who has represented the Herts County Under 14s Rugby Team this season. Other team members included Kerim Hassan, Kayil Hassan, Billy Coleman, Joe Evans, Luke Turner, Joe Whyman, Tom Watson, George Fisk, Demi Osibogun, Dimitri Bakalis, Billy Thompson, Niall Wakefield, Daniel Bolden, Harrison Channing, Harry Cavlan, Jakub Jurkowski, Morgan Newman, Cornelius Oteng, Luca Vega, Ellis Glover and Ethan Marley.

PE teacher, Mr Dobson, praised the boys, saying “The Year 9 boys have been fantastic this year and played some outstanding rugby at times.  We are very proud of how much they have improved as a team and look forward to another successful season next year.”