Skip to content ↓
  • ""

Religious Studies, Philosophy and Ethics

Exam Board - to be confirmed due to release of new specifications.

Course Content

Religious Studies A-level will consist of three units; Philosophy of Religion, Religious Ethics and Hinduism.
In Year 12 students study the following three units:
1.         Philosophy of Religion
Topics including: arguments for the existence of God, the challenges of evil to religious belief, religious experiences as evidence for the existence of God.
2.        Religious Ethics
An introduction to ethics, how do we decide what is right or wrong?  Various ethical theories and how they could be applied to modern issues.
3.        Hinduism
An introduction to Hinduism including key beliefs and practices.  Topics include the nature of God, significant festivals and life principles.
In Year 13 students develop their subject skills with a further study of the following units which have a direct correlation with those studied in Year 12.
1.         Philosophy of Religion
What do people believe about life after death? Can miracles really happen?  How do we use language in philosophy and theology?  How has secularism had an impact on religion? 
2.        Religious Ethics
Freewill and determinism: are our decisions determined or made freely?  Are our lives mapped out already? What is the meaning of ethical language?  Key ethical theories and that application to contemporary issues.
3.         Hinduism
Key Hindu texts.  Modern Hindu figures.  Contemporary issues in Hinduism.  Indian Philosophy.

Methods of Assessment

The AS units are assessed in June of Year 12; the A-level units are assessed in the June of Year 13.  There is no coursework unit.

Entry Requirements

GCSE B RE or (if not studied) B in English Language.
Students do not have to have taken Religious Studies GCSE to study Philosophy and Ethics in the Sixth Form.